• Home
    Home We Serve America's Restaurants Representing nearly 500,000 restaurant businesses, we advocate for restaurant and foodservice industry interests and provide tools and systems that help members of all sizes achieve success.
  • Foundation
    Foundation Building & Retaining Talent The NRAEF is focused on developing a stronger workforce and building the next generation of industry leaders through education, scholarships and community engagement.
  • Show
    Show May 18-21, 2019 As the international foodservice marketplace, the National Restaurant Association Show provides unparalleled opportunities for buyers and sellers to come together, conduct business and learn from each other.
  • ServSafe
    ServSafe Minimize Risk. Maximize Protection. For over 40 years, ServSafe® training programs have delivered the knowledge, leadership and protection that have earned the trust and confidence of business leaders everywhere.

National Restaurant Association - NRA taps 2016 officers, board members

Skip to navigation Skip to content

News & Research

News RSS

NRA taps 2016 officers, board members

The National Restaurant Association and its Educational Foundation introduced their 2016 slate of officers, board members and trustees. President and CEO Dawn Sweeney said the officers and board were essential to the Association’s successful work on behalf of the foodservice industry.

“This year, our boards are fortunate to be led by foodservice veterans Joseph Kadow of Bloomin’ Brands Inc. and Lorna Donatone of Sodexo,” Sweeney said. “Their leadership and expertise will be vital in representing our industry and our mission in the year ahead.”

The officers, who serve one-year terms, led their first board meeting in Palm Beach, Fla., in January.

The 2016 slate of officers are:

Chair: Joseph Kadow, executive vice president and chief legal officer of Bloomin’ Brands Inc. An original member of the Bloomin’ Brands executive leadership team, Kadow leads the legal, human resources, communications and government relations functions.

Vice Chair: Jeff Davis, chairman of Tulsa, Okla.-based United States Beef Corp. restaurant group. U.S. Beef is Arby’s Restaurant Group's largest franchisee, with 332 restaurants in eight states. It also is the first Taco Bueno Restaurants franchisee, with six units in northwestern Arkansas. Davis also is on the board of the Oklahoma Restaurant Association and chairs the Arby’s Franchise Association.

Treasurer: Jay Stieber, executive vice president and general counsel of Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises Inc. headquartered in Chicago. The company operates more than 40 different concepts in over 100 locations. Stieber is a past chair of the Illinois Restaurant Association and continues to serve on its executive committee. He also serves on the board of the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce and the board of the chamber’s PAC.

The NRAEF’s 2016 officers are:

Chair: Lorna C. Donatone, region chair for North America and chief executive for the schools worldwide division of Sodexo Inc. She oversees 133,000 employees and all Sodexo business in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico. As CEO of schools worldwide, Donatone is responsible for a business segment with more than 3,500 client sites in 42 countries. The contract foodservice conglomerate is the 19th largest employer in the world and the leader in delivering integrated facilities management, foodservice operations and recognition programs in 80 countries. Donatone has been an NRA board member since 2005 and became an NRAEF trustee in 2011. She also is past chair of the Women’s Foodservice Forum and is a member of the board of trustees for The Culinary Institute of America.

Vice Chair: Greg Hamer, Sr., FMP, owner of B&G Food Enterprises Inc., which operates 94 Taco Bell, Taco Bell/KFC, and Taco Bell/Long John Silver franchise restaurants in Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. The business employs a workforce of more than 2,400. Hamer is a member of the Knights of Columbus, Legatus International and board member for the Mardi Gras Krewe of Hepheastus. He also serves on the Taco Bell Foundation Board and is chair of the Community Foundation of Acadiana’s St Mary Affiliate.

Treasurer: Sam Facchini is co-founder/ co-owner of Las Vegas’ eight-unit Metro Pizza chain. He is dedicated to the education, growth and success of future restaurateurs and has worked for years on local high-school scholarships and University of Las Vegas hospitality scholarship programs. Facchini also serves on the board of the Nevada Restaurant Association.

The NRA’s new board members include:

  • Blanca Cabrera, founder and president of Sergio’s Family Restaurants in Miami, Fla.
  • Kathleen Ciaramello, president of national foodservice and on-premise operations at Coca-Cola North America in Atlanta.
  • Susan M. Connelly, senior vice president of communications and public affairs for Darden Restaurants Inc. in Orlando, Fla.
  • Carol B. Dover, FMP, president and CEO of the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association.
  • Anne Fink, COO for PepsiCo North America Foodservice in Somers, New York.
  • Jeffrey Gates, partner, The Aquitane Group in Boston.
  • Stan Harris, president and CEO of the Louisiana Restaurant Association, Louisiana Restaurant Association Self-Insurer’s Fund in Metairie, La.
  • Hattie Hill, president and CEO of the Women’s Foodservice Forum.
  • Bob Omainsky, founder and president of Fried Stewed Nude Inc. in Mobile, Ala.
  • Sonia Riggs, president and CEO of the Colorado Restaurant Association.

The NRAEF’s new trustees include:

  • Robert Black, culinary director and partner of A Good Egg Dining Group in Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Roy Jackson, senior vice president of business development and industry affairs for Coca-Cola North America in Atlanta.
  • Steve Pattison, chief financial officer and vice president of business analysis and risk management for Restaurant Services Inc. in Miami, Fla.
  • Scott A. Sonnemaker, chief customer officerand senior vice president of sales for Sysco Corp. in Houston.
Conserve RSS Healthcare RSS Conserve RSS

▲ Back to Top

New report

Spot Ad right

We're glad you're here!®

® 2012-2017 National Restaurant Association. All rights reserved.

2055 L St. NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036
(202) 331-5900 | (800) 424-5156